Bend and Stretch Reach for the Stars — Miss Nancy Romper Room

Rex Hunter
3 min readAug 7, 2019

--

It’s nineteen ninety-something and I have been out of college for about ten years. Why I decided to do what I did, I can’t say but the timing couldn’t have been worse.

Have you ever had a calling? Something that kept coming to mind over and over again. A thought that you could do more, be more, contribute more to your business and family? I had been having the same thought for over a year. What to do?

My family business, repairing and selling medical equipment, was in its prime. We had survived the fifteen-year mark and Kathie and I were living comfortably. Jessica was four years old and as good as she could be. Life was good.

It was a summer day when Kathie and I arrived home at the same time from work. And we both had big news.

As we got out of our respective cars we both had big smiles on our faces. Simultaneously, we announce to each other, “I’ve got some big news!” and again in unison we say, “You go first! No, you go. No, you!” It was like something out of a sitcom.

I finally took the reins and announced, “I’ve been accepted into Rollins College Business School to get my MBA!” I could tell by the look in her eyes that she was surprised because I had never told her I was even thinking about going back to school.

“What’s your new!?!” I ask expecting it to be something work-related.

“I’m pregnant!” she exclaimed.

Hugs, kisses, and tears were the order of the day. Eventually, though the same thought came to us.

How can we juggle both a bundle of joy and college? We had waited to get married until we were both out of college so going back to school while working and being married was going to be a new situation for us. But with Jessica at four years old needing our love and attention and now pregnant too?

Kathie is always supportive of my goals and later that evening she steps up to the plate and lets me know. “We can handle both things at the same time, sweetie. No worries.”

I try to hide my hesitation by agreeing “The classes are at night only three days a week. How hard can it be?”

I believe we both spent a good part of that night in bed staring at the ceiling and pondering what we would be in for in the coming months.

Little did I know that classes at night would mean studying the nights I was off and then the group projects that required weekend meetings.

Often the hardest things to do are the thing for us. The choices we make to stretch out of our comfort zones to throw caution to the wind will end up being the best for ourselves, our family and the community.

As I continue the journey of 1% improvement each day, I urge you to follow the advice of the sage Miss Nancy from Romper Room, “Bend and stretch, reach for the stars. There goes Jupiter here comes Mars.”

Live, Love, Matter
#IODcommitted #ImpactoftheDay #PoweredbyImpactClub
#StoryAthlete

--

--

Rex Hunter

A work in progress. Heading toward creativity, innovation and just being a good human being.