No Scrubs — TLC

Rex Hunter
3 min readFeb 17, 2020

--

In the Being vs Becoming journey, I find my list of shit is also becoming something different than when I started.

Those of you that have read my stories may or may not recall that I have “Daddy Issues”. My Dad was always the pessimist when it came to me. “People don’t do that..” to whatever I showed interest in doing or becoming.

I have allowed that to control much of my life up to this day. Over the past several months the ghost of my father has been fading. He passed away five years ago.

My list of shit lies now completely at my feet. My Lesser Self is strong but my Heroic Self is strong and getting stronger every day.

As a child of the sixties and seventies, I am a TV addict. Give me a halfway interesting show and I will consume it. I struggle to stop wasting my time and effort on meaningless entertainment. You name it and I’ll watch it. Horror, comedy, musicals, political shows. You name it and I will watch it.

I realize that what I am doing is escaping from the real world. I am escaping from hard work, from thinking for myself, from building something for myself and my family. The question that comes to mind is “Why?”

Why don’t I want to do the things that will make me a better person in the long run? Am I afraid of failure? Am I afraid to be different than most of the people I know on a day to day basis? Do I STILL believe I’m not good enough or are the words of my father hovering around me like the rotten smell of three-day-old fish? “People just don’t do that.”

I have always loved music. Playing guitar and listening. I can often relate a song to my mood or use the lyrics as a lesson. What are lyrics but stories put to music?

In No Scrubs the first chorus hits home for me…

A scrub is a guy that thinks he’s fly
And is also known as a buster
Always talkin’ about what he wants
And just sits on his broke ass…

I’m tired of sitting on my broke ass and watching the world pass me by through the flashing images on the TV screen. Old habits die hard, they say, but I know I don’t want to lie on my death bed thinking about all the hours I could have been living life and instead decided to re-watch the entire seven seasons of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

StoryAthletes give me the incentive and the example of the type of person I am working to become. There are so many avenues to take between GRIT, VDA2.0, Rev-Share. It’s up to me to turn off, tune in and do the damn work.

For those of you not familiar with TLC, here is a link:
https://youtu.be/FrLequ6dUdM

Live, Love, Matter

===========================================
#IODcommitted #ImpactoftheDay #PoweredbyImpactClub

#StoryAthlete

#DefinedByTheStoryWeTellOurSelf

#BeingVsBecoming

TLC’s official music video for ‘No Scrubs’. Click to listen to TLC on Spotify: http://smarturl.it/TLCSpotify?IQid=TL... As featured on Fanmail. Click to buy …

--

--

Rex Hunter

A work in progress. Heading toward creativity, innovation and just being a good human being.